A new adventure!

Railside Adventures, the railfan's retreat  Hi everyone!  I’m sorry I haven’t posted in awhile, I just got back from a week-long scout camp, and the time before that was spent in preparation.  But now I’m back, and as eager as ever to embark on my next adventure!  This one will take me to Paducah, KY.  The reason I am going to Paducah is my brother’s baseball team, which is competing in a tournament in there.  That being the case, some of the families (mine included) are going to travel with the team to cheer them on.  And, since they won’t be playing the whole time, that leaves time open for a certain train fanatic to sample some action offered by Paducah ;).  From some of the research I’ve done, this is what I’ve been able to put together: the main line serving Paducah is the Paducah and Louisville, a class II regional railroad.  Interchanging with the P&L in the western outskirts of the city are the CN, CSX, and BNSF.  In the southern end up through the middle of Paducah, the P&L have a few yards and an engine terminal.  There is also a small railroad museum in Paducah, and I hope to pay it a visit before the tournament ends.  The sum of all of this: the potential for a very good time trackside and lots of good footage.  Stay tuned for updates about places I visit in Paducah, my railfanning catches, and maybe a bit of how my brother does in the tournament.  I guess I have to go pack now, because all of this begins when I leave tomorrow!  Happy rails, and see you soon!

Leave a Comment

