My Fantastic Paducah Adventure: Day 3

Railside AdventuresWell, since I already said earlier what I did, I’ll just go a little more in depth with it.  I started the day by going to the Paducah Railroad Museum, and I’d have to say the highlight from that would have to be the simulator.  It was made by one of the volunteers from the museum, and it utilizes controls from a real diesel wired to a computer so they could run the simulator.  It wasn’t hard to see the amount of work that had to go into it to create such a life-like simulator, and I’m sure the creator must be proud of his work.  Sadly, I wasn’t able to find out for sure because he was on vacation, but the man that was there seemed to know what he was doing, and he was very nice on top of that.  After we finished going through the museum I paid a visit to the Iron Horse Memorial, which is an Illinois Central 2-8-2 Mikado steam locomotive, with an IC baggage car and caboose tucked in behind.  After getting some shots of that, I got some pics of the old Nashville, Chattanooga, and St. Louis Railroad freight depot and office.  After taking a break for lunch, the next thing on the list was a stop by the locomotive shops and terminal, which was packed with a colorful assortment of power, some of which were bound for places like Australia and South Africa.  Well, that pretty much wraps up the train portion of the day.  Oh, and my brother’s team one both of there games today, ensuring their place in the playoffs of the tournament tomorrow!  Hopefully I will be able to go trackside in between games tomorrow, because I REALLY want to bring back some footage!  Well, I guess we’ll see!  Stay tuned!

Leave a Comment

