My Fantsastic Paducah Adventure: Looking Back

Railside AdventuresHi everyone!  Well, the adventure is over, and now it’s time to glance behind my shoulder to reflect on how it went.  When I got there, I remember seeing the historic downtown Paducah and thinking on all the history it had to offer.  It didn’t disappoint as I saw in the next several days, with visits to the Market House Museum, the Tilghman House, which has been converted to a Civil War Museum, and the Paducah Railroad Museum.  The railroad museum was small, but it packed a lot into that small space, including MOW equipment, old signals, and even a train simulator.  Outside the museum, though not officially a part of it, was the Iron Horse Memorial, consisting of an old Illinois Central 2-8-2 Mikado steam locomotive coupled to an IC baggage car and caboose.  Just on the outskirts of the town was a big locomotive repair shop, which had a yard filled with diesels awaiting repair, some of them from Mexico, and even South Africa and Australia!  Also in the yard were many old diesels, one of which I spotted was an Alco RS unit, and also an old high-hood unit.  Although I never got to go trackside and railfan the lines in Paducah, all the other things I got to do and see definitely outweigh any regret.  And, I also think I may make a return trip at some point to Paducah, KY, and make a new adventure of it ;).  Well, that concludes the series My Fantastic Paducah Adventure, and it has really been a fun one.  Thank you for following My Fantastic Paducah Adventure, and I hope that you will decide to make a trip to Paducah sometime, and enjoy what it has to offer.  Until next time, thanks for reading, and happy rails!

Leave a Comment

