December Railfanning 2014

Well, it’s Christmas Eve of 2014, and I just realized I haven’t posted anything in ages and now would be as good a time as any.  I was able to go railfanning last Saturday and yesterday, and both times were complete successes.  On Saturday I arrived at Valley Park just in time to film a meet between a couple of BNSF freights (one of which was carrying an M1 Abrams tank), and I took good footage.  Yesterday, I had a different goal: film the St. Louis Polar Express, pulled by a pair of TRRA GP-38-3s, out of St. Louis Union Station.  I was able to capture the trains’s departure right in the middle of golden hour, so the train glowed in a brilliant orange.  The video I put together using the footage from both days can be viewed above.  While I’m posting, I guess it wouldn’t be too much of a hassle to pass along the word that about half of the lumber for my layout has been cut (with my brother’s assistance), and is awaiting assembly.  Well, that’s all for now.  Thanks for reading, and, until next time, happy rails and Merry Christmas!

One thought on “December Railfanning 2014

Leave a Comment

